Bang!

Bang!

This is the start of it all, my first blog post.

Not knowing what is to come from this first spark: greatness or a flame fizzled. The only option, lay out the facts as we know them today.

I am a high school Biology teacher. I know impressive. It seems like more and more people I talk to about my profession are utterly impressed by the fact that I am not only a teacher, but that I have chosen to teach science, a subject many people are quick to tell me they “hate” or “just don’t get.” I on the other hand have had a passion for science since my first memories of the classic baking soda and vinegar volcano, building an electromagnet in second or third grade, and studying weather in fourth grade. Btw, Thanks Ms. Siller (my science enrichment teacher). Because of my interest I have never been turned off to, or developed a distaste for science; instead, it has merely lead to my continued efforts to further my own scientific knowledge (yes, i know now volcanoes have nothing to do with vinegar or baking soda in mountains) and have led me to my current career path. So, to me science isn’t an insurmountable obstacle to be dealt with, but a warm blanket to contently surround ourselves with. Yes, that seems cozy to me.

This leads us into the title of my blog, Is This Science?, this is a question that often pops into my head when working daily with 15-18 year olds in my classroom. Most teachers would tell you teaching is more than just about spewing forth facts and information, its about interactions. These interactions are what make being a teacher exciting, exasperating, frustrating, and amazing. Interactions with students telling jokes, talking about current events, and asking questions about topics ranging from exotic animals like the goblin shark, to those things on every teenagers mind, “What if we all turn into zombies….” Everyday as I swim though a constant barrage of exclamations, questions, comments, excuses and laughs I often find myself stopping to ask myself: “Is this science?”

And, so this will serve as a jumping off point for us, as I use my blog to share my thoughts and anecdotes as a high school teacher, no a scientist, working with some of the most fascinating organisms in their equally fascinating and bizarre habitat, high school teenagers. Showing you that yes, even when I myself doubt it: This is science.

One response

  1. Seems to me that your first blog posting is about kids, specifically students. Teaching is all about relationships. Being as willing to respond to the questions about zombies as you are Goblin sharks shows your students that you accept and care about them. Perhaps you will be the one to spark passion about science in some student(s), as it was sparked in you. Perhaps one of your students will someday rise to prominence in the field of science by accomplishing something truly great…by becoming a high school science teacher.

Leave a Reply

