Bonus!

On all of my quizzes and tests I like to add fun bonus questions worth a couple of extra points. These questions usually consist of topics we’ve gone on tangents about, fun facts about the world, or even me, and just random trivia.

They usually add 3 to 5 points to a quiz grade, but my students really get into answering them. The effort, concern and energy put into getting these questions right oftentimes seems like students think the bonus is the content I am assessing. Often times I get many more questions of clarification or looking for hints about my bonus questions than the actual quiz or test questions.

Perhaps I should make a test of trivia and then have Biology questions for the bonus? Interesting.

Frequently, these bonus questions are not answered correctly; however, the answers are consistenly creative, clever and amusing. This keeps grading interesting and allows me to have a good chuckle or even full out laugh as I read them. I look forward to seeing what they come up with.

 Below I have provided some of my bonus questions and their best, yet incorrect responses, from my most recent exams.

Enjoy!

What is Mr. Reid’s Middle Name?

  • Andrew “Santa” Reid
  • Andrew “Biology” Reid
  • Andrew “Killer” Reid
  • Andrew “Alfonzo” Reid
  • Andrew “Danger” Reid
  • “Andrew (insert your middle name here) ____ Reid”
  • Its the period after Mr

What is Mr. Reid’s favorite color?

  • pink- cause he’s so manly he needs to like feminie things or he’d be too manly

What year did Columbus ‘sail the ocean blue’?

  • 1942
  • 1969
  • 1982
  • 1986*

*Yes, it’s possible I was born the year Columbus was out exploring. They must think I’m really old.

What is the only land mammal that can’t jump?                                

  • Snake
  • Alligator
  • Shark
  • Duck
  • Penguin
  • Platypus
  • Kangaroo
  • White people

What is the Orca Willy, from “Free Willy”, real name?

  • Balthazar-it should be
  • Steve
  • Steve
  • Steve the Whale
  • Rick James
  • William
  • William
  • Free
  • Killer Whale
  • I don’t know who cares I like Air Bud better.

Do you know the answers? Post any guesses you may have, or try to be just as creative as some of these students if you don’t.

One response

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Bonus! « Is This Science? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

